Time Is Speeding Up…

Posted: May 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

Almost four years ago I began this blog with the hope that I would find time weekly or monthly to write about Truth.  I wanted to write so that I would have a forum to share my ideas and thoughts about Biblical Truth and about having a Biblical Worldview.

Four years ago?  Really?  Where did the time go?  How could I have not taken the time to write more than four blogs in four years?  Part of the reason is that I am a perfectionist and if I can’t write the perfect blog post then I would rather not write one at all.  Perfectionism has it positive attributes, but I find it more of a nuisance because it keeps me from writing, causes me to worry too much, exacerbates my procrastination problem, and ultimately shortens my life (stress!!!).

The other part of the reason is that I chose to do stupid stuff with my time when I got home (like watch tv or find something on netflix).  I had originally wrote that I was just too tired to write a blog when I got home, but that is not the TRUTH.  I find time for the things I truly want to do.  I do believe that most of us are “amusing ourselves to death.”  That’s a book my friend, Jamey Birmingham, gave to me to read by Neil Postman.  I never got around to reading it because I was too busy on my iPad, Kindle Fire, or TV remote.  Maybe I’ll make a better choice tonight and read a few pages or write a few lines for my next blog…

My wife does an awesome job writing her blog (http://www.jskkjmch.blogspot.com/).  I am thankful for this because my children will be able to remember their childhood through their mother’s eyes and I, too, will be able to look back and remember all these awesome times that I have neglected to write about.  Of course, I am not doing bad with facebook, but I’m usually just posting pics or arguing with “a friend” about their perverted views on some cultural issue.  According to my fb friends, I am a narrow-minded, unloving, unconstitutional, fundamentalist, hate-infested traditionalist.  Just what I want my kids to read about their dear old dad.

It scares me that my oldest is now 12 (she was 8 when I committed to writing this blog).  My family has grown from 3 children to 5.  Time seems to be speeding up.  The time we have with our children is. so. short.  I need to do better.  I need to squeeze the marrow out of each day.  Time is speeding up.  Slow down. Please, slow down.

Comments
  1. birminghams says:

    Amen brother. Thanks for the honesty and openness. I look forward to more of your offerings in the near future.

Leave a comment